• 【虚拟银行崛起】App市占率开业两个月内暴增 首次超越传统银行

    媒体报导

    了解最新大数据趋势

【虚拟银行崛起】App市占率开业两个月内暴增 首次超越传统银行

November 19, 2020 – Hong Kong

金融管理局于2019年上半年向8间虚拟银行发出牌照后,虚拟银行以不同方式积极追击传统银行市场。对比传统银行,虚拟银行除了开户手续简单快速,其利率优惠亦非常吸引,到底传统银行在未来的金融市场还有生存空间吗?

随着大数据分析技术,有业界从数据分析观察虚拟银行App市场的趋势和用户轮廓,不仅反映虚拟银行App的市场渗透率超越部分传统银行,更预期虚拟市场将逐渐颠覆传统银行市场。

 

挤身App市场前五位      财经类 App市场渗透率高达89%  

根据Vpon威朋提供的AppVois平台市场分析发现,直至今年10月中,有高达89% (见 图一) 的用户手机都安装了财经类App,继工具、社交媒体及新闻类App后,与旅游类并列最高市占率第五位,平均每个用户都装有5至7个金融App (见 图一)。

图一、财经类App渗透率达89%,平均每用户安装57个财经App

虚拟银行成为金融市场的新力军       市场渗透率首度超越传统银行

虽然一线传统银行的App仍占有最高渗透率,其App安装率亦持续平稳上升,但虚拟银行App的表现绝不逊色。

由金管局发出牌照至今18个月,虚拟银行成为金融市场的新力军,从App数据反映虚拟银行积极赶上传统银行。AppVois平台显示,随着一些传统银行App的市场渗透率逐渐下滑,如虚拟银行A和B在开业不久后App渗透率都先后超越部分传统银行(见 图二) 。

图二、金融新力军虚拟银行App市场渗透率首度超越传统银行。

当中有虚拟银行在App市场的表现最突出。它于今年初开业时推出存款优惠吸引用户开户,令App市场渗透率持续上升,更于本年6月初开始突然暴增,在两个月内上升1.26个百分点 (见 图二),超越传统银行App。这很大可能因为其银行藉政府派发1万元机会,推出优会计划,令新安装率直冲最高达0.78% (见 图四)。

 

图三、有虚拟银行藉政府派发1万元机会,推出优会计划,令新安装率增长。

 

图四、虚拟银行冀藉政府派钱推出优惠计划,新安装率达最高0.78%

另一间虚拟银行B虽然较迟开业,其市场渗透率虽不及虚拟银行A及其他传统银行,但短短三个多月内超越部分传统银行,升幅亦达0.87个百分点,高于传统银行App同期升幅的0.81个百分点 (见 图五)。

图五、虚拟银行的市场渗透率升幅达0.87百分点,超越传统银行。

用户客群多样化     银行宜先了解用户再定市场策略

以这两间虚拟银行为例,它们的用户偏好有明显差异。从AppVois平台观察的用户偏好反映,虚拟银行A用户偏好安装的App前10位全部属于不同的金融和银行业者 (见 图六),当中包括其他虚拟银行和传统银行,以及投资和证券相关等等,可推测其App用户都是对金融产品及投资理财服务比较有兴趣。

图六、安装虚拟银行AApp用户较偏好其他金融和银行类App

对比之下,虚拟银行B的用户偏好比较多样化,金融和银行类App只占综合排名前10位内的5位,其他则包括游戏类和社交类,例如排名第7位的「Dust Settle 3D」和第10位的「17直播LIVE」都是年轻一族较常用的App (见 图七),可推测其App用户不局限于投资理财喜好者,用户亦趋向年轻化 。

图七、虚拟银行BApp用户偏好安装App排名反映群众较年轻化。

数据分析了解用户轮廓          大数据或成银行制定策略关键    

即便同样是财经类App,不同银行的客群亦有所不同,而现时的大数据技术,可以分析出不同银行App的用户面貌,业界亦可利用这些分析结果掌握用户偏好和市场趋势,从而调整和决定市场策略。同样地,传统银行或可透过如Vpon威朋AppVois的数据分析平台,了解自家App甚至其他业者的用户面貌,帮助他们在未来金融业的发展定位和商业决定。

 ———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

本出版物所提供的数据来自Vpon威朋自家数据库,并不涉及未经同意的第三方或其他不合乎香港法律规格之数据源。

本出版物仅供一般参考之用途,如需根据本出版物之内容采取或避免采取任何行动之前,请您必须获得专业人士建议,本公司将不就出版物内容是否准确、完整或最新作出任何明示或隐含的保证或担保。

 

如有任何问题,欢迎随时与我们联络。 (marketing@vpon.com)

Virtual Banking Apps’ Market Share Surge within Two Months and Exceeds Traditional Banking for The First Time

[INSERT_ELEMENTOR id=”5469″]

Virtual Banking Apps’ Market Share Surge within Two Months and Exceeds Traditional Banking for The First Time

November 19, 2020 – Hong Kong

Since the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) granted eight virtual banks licenses earlier in 2019, virtual banks have actively pursued traditional banking market in different ways. Compared with traditional banks, opening a virtual bank account is simpler and faster with a more attractive preferential interest rate. This bring us to a question: How Could Traditional Banks Survive in Future Financial Market?

The industry has adopted big data analytics tools to investigate virtual banking app market and their user’s profile which indicated its market penetration has started to exceed some traditional banks. It is also expected that the virtual banking market will overturn the traditional banking market in soon future.

 

Market Penetration Reached 89%; Financial Apps Ranked Top 5 in the Market

According to Vpon’s AppVois platform, until the mid-October, there are 89% of users have installed financial apps on their smartphones, with averagely five out of seven users installed financial apps in the market. Following tools, social media and news apps, financial apps market share ranked 5th together with travel apps (see Figure 1).

Figure 1: the penetration rate of financial apps reached 89% and five out of seven users installed financial apps in average.

 

New Force of Financial Market – Virtual Banking App Market Penetration First Surpassed Traditional Banking

Despite some renowned traditional banking apps remains a high market penetration with a steady increasing installation rate, the performance of virtual banking apps is no less favorable than traditional banking apps.

18 months since license issued by the HKMA, virtual banks have emerged as a new force in the financial market. According to the AppVois platform, upon a gradual decline in market penetration of traditional banking apps, virtual banking apps like “Virtual Bank A” and Virtual Bank B” both surpassed some of the traditional banks soon after their official launch.

 

Figure 2: The market penetration of virtual banking apps surpassed traditional banking apps for the first time.

Among virtual banking apps, Virtual Bank A achieves the most outstanding performance in the apps market. Virtual Bank A introduced a demand deposit offer to attract prospective users on the same day of their official launch in early 2020. In the first week of its opening, Virtual Bank A’s market penetration continuously to rise and started to soar at the beginning of June, rising by 1.26 percentage point within two months, surpassing traditional banking apps (see Figure 2). This might relate to Virtual Bank A taking the opportunity of the Government’s Cash Payout Scheme to offer attractive promotional package, which directly induces a higher installation rate of 0.78% (see Figure 4).

Figure 3: Virtual Bank took the opportunity of HKSAR Cash Payout Scheme to launch promotional campaign,

leading to a continuous rise in market penetration rate.

 

Figure 4: Virtual Bank A launched promotional campaign that directly induces a higher installation rate of 0.78%.

Virtual bank B might have launched its business later with market penetration rate lower than Virtual Bank A and other traditional banks, it already has 0.87 percentage point increase in market penetration just within three months, outweighing some second-tier traditional banks with only 0.81 percentage point of increase in the same period (see Figure 5).

Figure 5: the market penetration rate of Virtual Bank B increases 0.87%d which is higher than some of the traditional banks.

 

Diversified User Profile Urged Banks to Have In-Depth User Analysis Before Making Business Decisions

Take Virtual Bank A and Virtual Bank Bas examples, virtual banking app user’s preferences have significant differences. According to the AppVois platform, the top 10 apps that Virtual Bank A app users tend to install belong to the banking and financial industry (see Figure 6), including other virtual banks and traditional banks, as well as investment and securities related. It may indicate that these users are apparently interested in financial products and investment services.

Figure 6: Virtual Bank A’s app users also installed other financial and banking apps.

Contrastingly, the app user preferences of Virtual Bank B are more diversified. Financial and banking app only account for 5 out of the top 10 in the overall app ranking, others include gaming and social apps such as Dust Settle 3D (ranked 7th) and 17 LIVE (ranked 10th) (See Figure 7). These are more commonly installed by young audience. It may indicate that the Virtual Bank Bs app users are not only confined to those interested in investment and wealth management, but also tends to be the younger generation.

Figure 7: Virtual Bank B’s app user preferences indicated that their users tend to be younger.

Data analysis Can better Understand User Profile; Big data Becomes a Vital Element for Banks to Formulate Future Strategies

Even though these apps belong to the virtual banking category, users of different virtual banking apps may have different preferences and dimensions. Utilizing big data technology could precisely analyze these user profile. The industry can leverage data insight to better apprehend user interest and market trends which benefits more cost-effective market strategies. Likewise, traditional banks could make use data-centric platform like Vpon’s AppVois to comprehend user profile of their own apps or even apps of other businesses, which help them define future market position and business decision.

                                                                      

The data provided in this publication are derived from Vpon’s database and pledges to comply with the requirements of the Laws of Hong Kong. We ensure compliance of our platform with the strictest standards of security and confidentiality.

 

The information and material contained in this site are for general references only. If you intend to rely on or avoid taking any action based on the contents of this publication, you are strongly suggested to obtain professional advice. Vpon makes no express or implied representation, warranty, or guaranty as to the accuracy, appropriateness or completeness of any information contained in this publication.

 

Please contact us if you have any further enquiries. (marketing@vpon.com)